Overview| Next |


There are 4 minor scales in normal use

Natural minor

The natural minor comes when playing on the white keys starting from A.

Harmonic minor

Same as haromonic minor but with a raised seventh. This means that there is a 1½ tone interval between the 6th and the 7th tone.

Melodic minor

Both the 6th and the 7th is raised by ½ a note. The upper 4 tones of a melodic minor resembles major.

Dorian minor

One of the medieval modes. raised 6th and low 7th.

The dorian mode is used for jazz improvisation

You can hear the different minor scales here (ticking advanced and selecting the minors in the scale drop-down)